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 The court also takes judicial notice, pursuant to Rule 201 of the Federal Rules of Evidence, of material
1

undisputed facts of record in the Debtors’ bankruptcy case file.

2

This contested matter is before the court upon the Objection by Trustee to Debtors’ Schedule

C Exemptions (Objection to Exemptions) filed by the Chapter 7 Trustee, Dean B. Farmer (Trustee),

on October 26, 2007, objecting to the $50,000.00 homestead exemption claimed by the Debtors.  The

Debtors filed a Response to Trustee’s Objection to Schedule C Exemptions (Response) on

November 2, 2007, arguing that Tennessee’s homestead exemption statute, as recently amended,

entitles each of them to claim a $25,000.00 homestead exemption in their jointly-owned residence.

A preliminary hearing was held on December 6, 2007, at which time the parties agreed that

the issues would be resolved on stipulations and briefs.  Joint Stipulations of Facts were filed on

December 20, 2007.   The Debtors filed their Brief on December 21, 2007, and the Trustee filed his1

Brief on January 3, 2008.  Thereafter, on January 7, 2008, the court entered an Agreed Order

Amending Pre-Trial Order and Extending the Schedule for Supplemental Brief, restating the issues

and allowing the parties additional time to file supplemental briefs.  On January 11, 2008, the

Debtors and the Trustee each filed a supplemental brief. 

This is a core proceeding.  28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(2)(A) and (O) (2005).

I

The Debtors filed the joint Voluntary Petition commencing their bankruptcy case under

Chapter 7 on September 13, 2007.  Their residence, which they own as tenants by the entirety, is

located at 1690 Sandy Shore Drive, Lenoir City, Tennessee (Residence), and has a stipulated current



 Pursuant to the parties’ Joint Stipulations of Facts, the Residence is encumbered with a mortgage of
2

“approximately” $510,000.00, thus leaving equity of $40,000.00, more or less.

 The court considers the word “second” here to be superfluous and believes that this initial phrase should read:
3

“Are the Debtors limited to a homestead exemption as set forth in T.C.A. § 26-2-301(a) . . . .”

3

market value of “at least” $550,000.00.  The Debtors claim a homestead exemption in the Residence

in the amount of $50,000.00 grounded, generally, on Tennessee Code Annotated section 26-2-301.2

 Pursuant to the January 7, 2008 Agreed Order Amending the Pre-Trial Order, the issues

before the court are as follows: 

Are the Debtors limited to a second[ ] homestead exemption as set forth in T.C.A.3

§ 26-2-301(a) or are they entitled to assert a homestead exemption as set forth in
T.C.A. § 26-2-301(f)?  If T.C.A. § 26-2-301(f) is applicable, are the Debtors limited
to a $25,000.00 exemption or may they claim a $50,000.00 exemption?

II

Tennessee’s homestead exemption statute, as material to the issues before the court, provides

as follows:  

(a) An individual, whether a head of family or not, shall be entitled to a homestead
exemption upon real property which is owned by the individual and used by the
individual or the individual’s spouse or dependent, as a principal place of residence.
The aggregate value of such homestead exemption shall not exceed five thousand
dollars ($5,000); provided, individuals who jointly own and use real property as their
principal place of residence shall be entitled to homestead exemptions, the aggregate
value of which exemptions combined shall not exceed seven thousand five hundred
dollars ($7,500), which shall be divided equally among them in the event the
homestead exemptions are claimed in the same proceeding; provided, if only one (1)
of the joint owners of real property used as their principal place of residence is
involved in the proceeding wherein homestead exemption is claimed, then the
individual’s homestead exemption shall be five thousand dollars ($5,000).  The
homestead exemption shall not be subject to execution, attachment, or sale under
legal proceedings during the life of the individual.  Upon the death of an individual
who is head of a family, any such exemption shall inure to the benefit of the
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surviving spouse and their minor children for as long as the spouse or the minor
children use such property as a principal place of residence.

(b) If a marital relationship exists, a homestead exemption shall not be alienated or
waived without the joint consent of the spouses.

. . . .

(e)  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) to the contrary, an unmarried
individual who is sixty-two (62) years of age or older shall be entitled to a homestead
exemption not exceeding twelve thousand five hundred dollars ($12,500) upon real
property that is owned by the individual and used by the individual as a principal
place of residence; a married couple, one (1) of whom is sixty-two (62) years of age
or older and the other of whom is younger than sixty-two (62) years of age, shall be
entitled to a homestead exemption not exceeding twenty thousand dollars ($20,000)
upon real property that is owned by one (1) or both of the members of the couple and
used by the couple as their principal place of residence; and a married couple, both
of whom are sixty-two (62) years of age or older, shall be entitled to a homestead
exemption not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) upon real property
that is owned by one (1) or both of the members of the couple and used by the couple
as their principal place of residence.

(f) Notwithstanding subsection (a) to the contrary, an individual who has one (1) or
more minor children in the individual’s custody shall be entitled to a homestead
exemption not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) on real property that
is owned by the individual and used by the individual as a principal place of
residence.

TENN. CODE ANN. § 26-2-301 (Supp. 2007).  The issues raised in this contested matter concern the

application of subsection (f), which became effective on June 27, 2007.  

The parties have stipulated that the Debtors are married, are both younger than fifty-five years

old, and have one minor child residing with them in the Residence.  Additionally, it is undisputed

that, at a minimum, the Debtors are entitled to a homestead exemption against the Residence of

$7,500.00 pursuant to section 26-2-301(a).  The dispute arises with respect to the Debtors’ attempts
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to each claim a $25,000.00 “individual” homestead exemption in the Residence under the authority

of section 26-2-301(f).  

“The cardinal rule of statutory construction is to effectuate legislative intent, with all rules

of construction being [aids] to that end.”  Browder v. Morris, 975 S.W.2d 308, 311 (Tenn. 1998);

see also Owens v. State, 908 S.W.2d 923, 926 (Tenn. 1995) (“The most basic principle of statutory

construction is to ascertain and give effect to the legislative intent without unduly restricting or

expanding a statute's coverage beyond its intended scope.”).  

“In ascertaining the intent of the legislature, this Court may look to the language of
the statute, its subject matter, the object and reach of the statute, the wrong or evil
which it seeks to remedy or prevent, and the purpose sought to be accomplished in
its enactment.”  State v. Collins, 166 S.W.3d 721, 726 (Tenn. 2005) (internal
quotation marks and citation omitted).  We are entitled to presume that our General
Assembly is knowledgeable about its prior enactments and knows the state of the law
at the time it passes the legislation under construction.  Hicks v. State, 945 S.W.2d
706, 707 (Tenn. 1997); Wilson v. Johnson County, 879 S.W.2d 807, 810 (Tenn.
1994).

State v. Edmondson, 231 S.W.3d 925, 927 (Tenn. 2007).

When the parties derive different interpretations from the statutory language, the court must

determine if the language of the statute, after applying its ordinary and plain meaning, is ambiguous.

Parks v. Tenn. Mun. League Risk Mgmt. Pool, 974 S.W.2d 677, 679 (Tenn. 1998).  “When

interpreting statutes, a reviewing court must ascertain and give effect to the legislative intent without

restricting or expanding the statute’s intended meaning or application[, but if] the language of the

statute is ambiguous, the court must examine the entire statutory scheme and the legislative history

to ascertain and give effect to the legislative intent.”  Galloway v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 137 S.W.3d
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568, 570 (Tenn. 2004); see also Parks, 974 S.W.2d at 679.  In summary, as succinctly stated by the

Tennessee Supreme Court, 

“Legislative intent is to be ascertained whenever possible from the natural and
ordinary meaning of the language used, without forced or subtle construction that
would limit or extend the meaning of the language.”  Schering-Plough v. State Bd.
of Equalization, 999 S.W.2d 773, 775 (Tenn. 1999).  Statutes relating to the same
subject or sharing a common purpose must be construed together (“in pari materia”)
“in order to advance their common purpose or intent.”  Carver v. Citizen Utils. Co.,
954 S.W.2d 34, 35 (Tenn. 1997).  Ultimately, we seek the most “reasonable
construction which avoids statutory conflict and provides for harmonious operation
of the laws.”  Id.; see also LensCrafters, Inc. v. Sundquist, 33 S.W.3d 772, 777
(Tenn. 2000); Cronin v. Howe, 906 S.W.2d 910, 912 (Tenn. 1995). 

Frazier v. E. Tenn. Baptist Hosp., Inc., 55 S.W.3d 925, 928-29 (Tenn. 2001). 

Subsection (f) of Tennessee’s homestead exemption statute clearly provides that

“[n]otwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) to the contrary, an individual who has one (1)

or more minor children in such individual’s custody shall be entitled to a homestead exemption not

exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) upon real property that is owned by the individual

and used by the individual as a principal place of residence.”  TENN. CODE ANN. § 26-2-301(f)

(emphasis added).  To ascertain the plain, ordinary meaning of this subsection, each word must be

given effect as it is written.  In doing so, it is clear that, rather than utilizing the basic $5,000.00

exemption available to an individual under § 26-2-301(a), an exemption capped at $25,000.00 may

be claimed upon real property so long as the “principal residence” in question “is owned by” and

“used by” an “individual” who has custody of at least one minor child.  

In answer to the question of whether the General Assembly intended for the subsection to

apply only to individual debtors with custody of one or more minor child or if it was to additionally
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apply to married persons with custody of at least one minor child, the court finds it instructive that

the singular term “individual” is used four separate times within the fifty-three words contained in

subsection (f).  Black’s Law Dictionary defines “individual” as follows:  “As a noun, this term

denotes a single person as distinguished from a group or class[.]”  BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY 773

(6  ed. 1990).  Nowhere in subsection (f) is the term “individual” pluralized, nor is there any otherth

reference to more than a singular person.  The choice of the singular term “individual” as opposed

to the plural “individuals” or some other term that could easily be construed as meaning more than

one person, as in the case of married persons, convinces the court that the statute says what it means

and means what it says:  the enhanced $25,000.00 homestead exemption may be claimed only by an

individual debtor who (a) has custody of one or more minor children; and (b) owns the real property

used by the individual debtor and the minor child(ren) as a principal place of residence.  

This construction of the statute is also supported by an analysis of section 26-2-301, as a

whole.

In subsection (a), a basic exemption of $5,000.00 is allowed to “an individual” upon real

property “owned by the individual and used by the individual or the individual’s spouse or

dependent, as a principal place of residence.”  That amount is raised to an aggregate of $7,500.00

for “individuals who jointly own and use real property as their principal place of residence,” which

amount is “divided equally among them in the event the homestead exemptions are claimed in the

same proceeding[,]” but the exemption falls back to $5,000.00 if only one of the joint owners is



 However, where the  joint ownership is as tenants by the entirety and the proceeding involves only one of the
4

individual tenants, that individual possesses only a right of survivorship in the residence.  See Arango v. Third Nat’l Bank

(In re Arango), 992 F.2d 611, 613 (6  Cir. 1993) (citations omitted; construing Tennessee law).  In bankruptcy, theth

homestead exemption may not be claimed in the survivorship interest by a debtor.  See In re Arwood, 289 B.R. 889, 896

(Bankr. E.D. Tenn. 2003); In re Dick, 136 B.R. 1000, 1005-06 (Bankr. W.D. Tenn. 1992); Stephenson v. Gen. Motors

Acceptance Corp. (In re Stephenson), 19 B.R. 185, 189 (Bankr. M. D. Tenn. 1982).

 See supra n. 4.
5
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involved in the proceeding.   TENN. CODE ANN. § 26-2-301(a).  This subsection makes it clear that4

an individual debtor may claim a homestead exemption of no more than $5,000.00.   That exemption5

remains capped at $5,000.00 even when more than one debtor owns the residential real property, but

only one of them is involved in the proceeding at issue, and only when joint debtors jointly own and

use residential real property and are involved in the same proceeding may they increase the basic

exemption to $7,500.00.  However, this amount does not increase based upon the number of joint

debtors involved, but is capped at $7,500.00, to be equally divided between the two joint debtors.

Subsection (e) then provides the first exception to the basic homestead exemption provided

under subsection (a) by expanding the exemption for residential property owners sixty-two years of

age or older.  Under subsection (e), the exemption is raised as follows:  (1) to $12,500.00 for an

“unmarried individual” meeting the age requirement “upon real property that is owned by the

individual”; (2) to $20,000.00 for a “married couple” in which only one of them has met the age

requirement; and (3) to $25,000.00 for a “married couple” in which both persons meet the age

requirement.  Subsection (e) further designates, with respect to “married couples,” that the residential

real property be owned “by one (1) or both of the members of the couple and used by the couple as

their principal place of residence.”
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Finally, as previously discussed and at issue here, subsection (f) raises the exemption to

$25,000.00 for an “individual” upon a residence “that is owned by the individual” if that individual

has custody of one or more minor children.  This subsection does not, as the other subsections do,

refer to “individuals who jointly” own the residence or to a “married couple” made up of two

individual debtors.  The court additionally notes that the General Assembly used the exact language

“. . . upon real property that is owned by the individual and used by the individual as a principal

place of residence” in subsection (f) that it used in subsection (e) concerning the individual debtor

sixty-two years of age or older. 

“[W]here the legislature includes particular language in one section of the statute but omits

it in another section of the same act, it is presumed that the legislature acted purposefully in

including or excluding that particular subject.”  State v. Hawk, 170 S.W.3d 547, 551 (Tenn. 2005)

(quoting Bryant v. Genco Stamping & Mfg. Co., 33 S.W.3d 761, 765 (Tenn. 2000)).  Conspicuously

missing from subsection (f) are any plural terms such as those then set forth in subsection (e) when

the statute differentiates between an “individual” that meets the age requirement versus a “married

couple” in which one or both are sixty-two years of age or in subsection (a) which references

“individuals who jointly own . . . ” and “joint owners.”  

Furthermore, reading the statute as a whole, and in reliance upon the plain, ordinary language

of the terms utilized therein without the benefit of legislative history or advisory comments, it seems

apparent that the purpose of enacting both subsections (e) and (f) was to offer protection in the form

of heightened exemptions upon residential real property when two very limited age groups are

implicated:  those of retirement age or older and minor children.  The General Assembly then limited



 Moreover, while various factors may affect the amount of a claimed exemption, there is nothing in the statute
6

that gives rise to the notion that the homestead exemption can be used cumulatively.  To the contrary, the statute clearly

limits a debtor’s application of the homestead exemption to one such amount upon a principal residence whereby it may

not be combined or aggregated.

 The court notes the recent contrary ruling in In re Staggs, Ch. 13 Case No. 207-05267, slip op. (Bankr. M.D.
7

Tenn. Jan. 16, 2008).
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those protections further by imposing a minimum age of sixty-two years in subsection (e) and

restricting subsection (f) to apply only to individual custodians of minor children.

In summary, the court finds that subsection (f) of the homestead exemption statute set forth

in Tennessee Code Annotated § 26-2-301 provides a $25,000.00 enhanced homestead exemption

only upon real property owned by an individual debtor having custody of one or more minor children

so long as the real property is used by the individual debtor as a principal place of residence.   As6

such, the Debtors, who are married and who own the Residence jointly, cannot qualify as “an

individual debtor” under subsection (f).  They are not, therefore, entitled to claim the enhanced

homestead exemption but are limited to the basic $7,500.00 homestead exemption allowed to joint

debtors pursuant to section 26-2-301(a).7

An order consistent with this Memorandum will be entered.

FILED:  February 8, 2008 

BY THE COURT

/s/  RICHARD STAIR, JR.

RICHARD STAIR, JR.
UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY JUDGE



IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

In re
Case No.  07-32975

JACK RILEY BUTTURINI, JR.
d/b/a MARTIAL ARTS AMERICA
f/d/b/a JACK BUTTURINI AMERICAN KARATE
f/d/b/a BUTTURINI FAMILY KARATE
KATHARINE BROWN BUTTURINI

Debtors

O R D E R

For the reasons stated in the Memorandum on Objection By Trustee to Debtors’ Homestead

Exemption filed this date, the court directs that the Objection By Trustee to Debtors’ Schedule C

Exemptions filed by the Chapter 7 Trustee, Dean B. Farmer, on October 26, 2007, is SUSTAINED.

The Debtors’ claimed joint homestead exemption in their residence at 1690 Sandy Shore Drive,

Lenoir City, Tennessee, is disallowed in the amount of $50,000.00, but is allowed pursuant to TENN.

CODE ANN. § 26-2-301(a) in the amount of $7,500.00.

###

SO ORDERED.

SIGNED this 08 day of February, 2008.
THIS ORDER HAS BEEN ENTERED ON THE DOCKET.
PLEASE SEE DOCKET FOR ENTRY DATE.

________________________________________
Richard Stair Jr.

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY JUDGE

____________________________________________________________
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